top of page

Chakras: Discover your Internal Rainbow

Updated: Apr 23

You may have heard of Chakras but not exactly sure what they might may be and what they do.

Chakra means ‘Wheel of Light’ and we have 7 major chakras within us, they run in a midline up the body, from the base of the spine to the top of the head. A chakra can be balanced, deficient or excessive. The lists below are certainly not definitive, more a little insight.

I have spent over 20 years as a spiritual healer, my course ran over 2 years as I studied and connected to the Chakras, still practicing and learning every day. When I connect to a chakra, the give me an energetic x-ray of what is happening for you and effecting you in that moment. I can then flow with the energy so it can show me where the imbalance originates and as we heal the source, the symptoms begin to melt away.

If we hold Samskaras, energy blocks, we can cause deficient or excessive energy flow, leading to physical, energetic and emotional imbalances. By healing and releasing these blocks, one by one we begin to light up, we glow, we come home and into balance.

Root Chakra

Colour: red
Element: earth
Lotus flower: 4 petals
Location: base of the spine

Safety , grounding, stability, self preservation, trust, vitality, good health, skeleton

  • Deficient: poor boundaries, underweight, poor focus, restless, fear

  • Excessive: obesity, hoarding, sluggish, fear change, greed

  • Balanced: stable, trust, good health, vitality, relaxed, prosperity

  • Crystal: ruby, hematite, garnet

  • Affirmation: I love my body and trust its wisdom

  • Yoga pose: Tadasana (mountain), Vrksasana (tree), Uttanasana (forward fold) any standing or grounding poses

  • Mantra: Lam

Sacral Chakra: Orange

Element: water
Lotus flower: 6 petals
Location: hips

Sensation, pleasure, creativity, desire, memories, sexual, shakti, nurture

  • Deficient: lack desire, passion and excitement, fear of sex, guilt

  • Excessive: sex addiction, hysteria, bipolar, obsessive, oversensitive

  • Balanced: graceful, healthy boundaries, playful, sexual

  • Crystal: Citrine, Aventurine, Calcite

  • Affirmation: I celebrate and embrace my sexuality and pleasure

  • Yoga pose: Ananda Balasana (happy baby), Baddha Konasana (butterfly), Eka pada kapotasana (pigeon) - any hip openers

  • Mantra: Vam

Solar Plexus Chakra

Colour: yellow
Element: fire
Lotus flower: 10 petals
Location: just below the diaphragm

Energy, confidence, decisions, power, ego, play, fight or flight

  • Deficient: low energy, low self esteem, poor digestion, weak willed

  • Excessive: stubborn, temper, hyper, controlling, competitive

  • Balanced: confident, healthy gut, humour, emotionally balance

  • Crystal: Citrine

  • Affirmation: the fire within me burns through all blocks and fears

  • Yoga pose: Navasana (boat), Plank, Arhda Chandrasana (half moon), Trikonasana (triangle) - any twists and balances

  • Mantra: Ram

Heart Chakra

Colour: green
Element: air
Lotus flower: 12 petals
Location: heart

Love, compassion, immune system, relationships, devotion, self loveDeficient: Antisocial, cold, depressed, no empathy, narcissistic

  • Excessive: demanding, clingy, jealous, poor boundaries, grief

  • Balanced: compassionate, loving, peaceful, healthy, empathetic

  • Crystal: Rose Quartz, Jade

  • Affirmation: I am loving to myself and others

  • Yoga pose: Cat Cow, Fish pose, Thread the needle, Ustrasana (camel), Gomukhasana (cow face) - any heart, shoulder openers

  • Mantra: Yam

Throat Chakra

Colour: blue
Element: sound
Lotus flower: 16 petals
Location: throat

Communication, listening, expression, creativity

  • Deficient: Fear of speaking, poor rhythm, shy, introvert, tone deaf

  • Excessive: Talk too much, gossip, poor listener, interrupts

  • Balanced: Communicative, expressive, authentic, creative, good listener

  • Crystal: Aquamarine, Turquoise

  • Affirmation: I hear and speak the truth

  • Yoga pose: Shoulder stretches, bridge, fish pose, shoulder stand, plow pose - any poses that open neck and shoulders and inverted

  • Mantra: Hum

Third Eye Chakra

Colour: indigo
Element: light
Lotus flower: 2 petals
Location: slightly above centre of eyebrows

Inner voice, intuition, imagination, visualisation, perceptive, memory

  • Deficient: Poor vision, insensitive, lack imagination, denial, lies

  • Excessive: Hallucinations, delusions, nightmares, no concentration

  • Balanced: Intuitive, good memory, perceptive, visualiser

  • Crystal: Amethyst, Azurite

  • Affirmation: I am open to the wisdom within

  • Yoga pose: Garudasana (Eagle pose), handstand, headstand, Dolphin

  • Mantra: Om

Crown Chakra

Colour: violet (also known as white)
Element: cosmic energy
Lotus flower: 1000 petals
Location: top/crown of head

Inner light, understanding, divinity, higher energy, wisdom, spiritual, connection to all, vision, union

  • Deficient: Learning difficulties, spiritual cynicism, disconnected

  • Excessive: Dissociate from body, confusion, migraines

  • Balanced: Wisdom, compassion, intelligent, aware, open minded, calm

  • Crystal: Clear quartz

  • Affirmation: I am guided by higher power

  • Yoga pose: Meditation, meditation , meditation

  • Mantra: OM

Book a Chakra Tune up or reiki session to discover how your internal rainbow is feeling today.

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page